Distinguished Service Award

Nominations for the Distinguished Service Award are now Closed, Nominations for 2025 will open in Summer 2024.

The WACEP Distinguished Service Award program began in 2018 to annually recognize a WACEP member who has made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of the emergency medicine specialty, and who has demonstrated the ideals of the organization through their ongoing activities and accomplishments.  The recipient will be recognized during the annual WACEP Spring Symposium.


  • Nominee must be a WACEP member in good standing.
  • Nominations should detail the unique or extraordinary impact the nominee has made within emergency medicine.
  • Nominee's contributions may be at the local, state, or national level. 

2024 Distinguished Service Award Winner

Paul Casey, MD, FACEP

WACEP congratulates Paul Casey, MD, FACEP as the recipient of this year's WACEP Distinguished Service Award. The award was presented during the Annual Membership Meeting on March 7, 2024.  Dr. Casey was nominated by Dr. Brad Burmeister and approved by the Board of Directors.  Over Dr. Casey's career he has distinguished himself with an extraordinary impact on emergency medicine and beyond. His impacts have been felt locally, regionally, and nationally.

Past Distinguished Service Award recipients include:

  • 2023 - Julie Doniere, MD, FACEP
  • 2022 - Jeffrey Pothof, MD, FACEP
  • 2021 - Michael Pulia, MD, MS, FACEP
  • 2020 - Michael Repplinger, MD, PhD, FACEP
  • 2019 - Howard J. Croft, MD, FACEP
  • 2018 - Azita Hamedani, MD, MBA, MPH, FACEP

Wisconsin Chapter, American College of Emergency Physicians
563 Carter Court, Suite B
Kimberly, WI 54136
920-750-7725 | WACEP@badgerbay.co

© Wisconsin Chapter, ACEP. All rights reserved.